Meeting Minutes Northeast Regional Transportation Planning Organization (NERTPO) Hosted by Union County & Town of Clayton Herzstein Memorial Museum 22 S. 2nd St Clayton, NM 88415 February 26th, 2020 10:00 a.m.



# Meeting Attendees

Present/Absent	Name	Entity	Voting/Alternate	
Present	Sandy Garcia	Village of Angel Fire	Alternate	
Present	Richard Cordova-Chair	Village of Eagle Nest	Voting Member	
Present	Robert Thompson	Colfax County	Alternate	
Present	Ken Flores	Guadalupe County	Alternate	
Present	Daniel Gurule	City of Las Vegas	Voting Member	
Present	Arnold Lopez	San Miguel County	Voting Member	
Present	Ralph Lopez	City of Tucumcari	Alternate	
Present	Ferron Lucero	Town of Clayton	Voting Member	
Present	Larry Moore	Quay County	Voting Member	
Present	Ernest Sanchez	Town of Clayton	Alternate	
Present	Samuel Blea	Town of Springer	Voting Member	
Present	Vicki Strand	City of Tucumcari	Voting Member	
Present	Sarah Arias	Town of Springer	Alternate	
Present	Daniela Johnson	Village of Mosquero	Voting Member	
Present	Jason Phillips	City of Raton	Alternate	
Present	Larry Marquez	City of Raton	Voting Member	
Present	Pedro Laumbach	Harding County	Alternate	
Present	Richard Primrose	Quay County	Alternate	
Present	Gerald Garcia	San Miguel County	Alternate	
Present	Clay Kiesling	Union County	Voting Member	
Absent	Mary Berglund	Village of Eagle Nest	Alternate	
Absent	Jay Mitchell	Village of Angel Fire	Voting Member	
Absent	Landon Newton	Colfax County	Voting Member	
Absent	Shawn Jeffrey - Vice- Chair	Village of Cimarron	Voting Member	
Absent	Cynthia Lee	Village of San Jon	Voting Member	
Absent	Wade Lane	Village of San Jon	Alternate	
Absent	Donna Sue Milson	Village of Roy	Voting Member	
Absent	Renee Ledoux	Village of Cimarron	Alternate	
Absent	Scott Parnell	Village of Logan	Voting Member	
Absent	Vacant	City of Santa Rosa	Voting Member	
Absent	Vacant	Village of Pecos	Alternate	
Absent	Jennifer Baca	Harding County	Voting Member	
Absent	Telesfor Benavidez	Village of Pecos	Voting Member	
Absent	Monica Abeyta	Guadalupe County	Voting Member	

			e	teres taken
Absent	Angie Gonzales	Union County	Alternate	
Absent	Matthew Baca	Village of Roy	Alternate	
Absent	Vacant	City of Santa Rosa	Alternate	Northeast
Absent	Anita Allen	Village of House	Voting Member	BEO T
Absent	Vacant	City of Las Vegas	Alternate	
Absent	Vacant	Mora County	Voting Member	1000
Absent	Vacant	Mora County	Alternate	
Absent	Connie Cook	Village of Mosquero	Alternate	
Absent	Sherwin W. Martin	Village of House	Alternate	
Absent	Lee Dixon	Village of Des Moines	Voting Member	
Absent	Scott Warner	Village of Des Moines	Alternate	
Absent	Diane Brown	Village of Folsom	Voting Member	
Absent	Mike Schoonover	Village of Folsom	Alternate	
Absent	Mignon Saddoris	Village of Grenville	Voting Member	
Absent	Lynn Wiseman	Village of Grenville	Alternate	
Absent	Russell Feerer	Village of Logan	Alternate	
Absent	Don Flynn	Village of Maxwell	Voting Member	
Absent	Joanna Taylor	Village of Maxwell	Alternate	
Absent	Laudente Quintana	Village of Wagon Mound	Voting Member	
Absent	Nora Sanchez	Village of Wagon Mound	Alternate	

NMDOT, Planners, State/Federal Agencies

James Gallegos, PE – NMDOT District IV Engineer John Herrera – NMDOT District IV LGRF Coordinator Joseph Moriarty, AICP – NMDOT Planning Liaison Dennis T. Salazar – NCNMEDD Planner Vincent M. Soule – EPCOG Planner Lesah Sedillo – NCNMEDD Community Development Director George Dodge, Jr. – NMDOT Local Government Director Tim Hagaman – NM Economic Development Department, Regional Representative

Guests/Public

Glen Stevens – Colfax County Rick Tafoya – Village of Angel Fire Richard Runyon – Dennis Engineering Brandy Thompson – Union County Danny Laumbach – Village of Roy Jerry Martinez – Mora County Joe Kiely – Ports-2-Plains

# I. Call to Order

The Meeting was called to order at 10:09 AM by Chairman Cordova.

# II. Pledge of Allegiance/New Mexico State Flag

The Pledge of Allegiance and the salute to the New Mexico State Flag was led by Chairman Cordova.

#### III. Welcome

Chairman welcomed everyone to the <MEETING LOCATION>. Individual introductions were conducted by all in attendance.

#### IV. Approval of Agenda

Motion to accept the minutes as presented: Jason Phillip – City of Raton Second: Robert Thomson – Colfax County With there being no opposition, **motion carries**.

# V. Approval of Minutes (January 22<sup>nd</sup>, 2020 – Santa Fe, NM)

Motion to accept the minutes as presented: Ferron Lucero – Town of Clayton Second: Jason Phillip – City of Raton With there being no opposition, <u>motion carries</u>.

# VI. Appointment of Vice-Chair (Chairman Cordova/NERTPO Members)

Member Shawn Jeffery of the Village of Cimarron was nominated from the floor. Being that Ms. Jeffery was the only nomination from the floor, Motion to accept Shawn Jeffery to serve as Vice-Chair: Clay Kiesling – Union County Second: Samuel Blea – Town of Springer With no members voicing opposition, <u>motion carries</u>.

# VII. NMDOT District Four Update/ NMDOT Staff (Mr. James M. Gallegos-District Four Engineer and Staff)

NMDOT announced that spreadsheets for Capital Outlay should be sent to John Herrera. The LGRF call is still scheduled for March. You may contact John at his new number: (505) 652-8059

Match waivers will follow the same process as before.

Mr. George Dodge announced that the bill that would call for RTPOs to prioritize projects for funding was not funded during the session. The funding was diverted to different legislation. It will be up to the Executive Branch as to how it will be funded, if it will be. Mr. Joe Moriarty mentioned that the RTPO may still provide a prioritize list of projects. Mr. Vincent Soule mentioned that the RTPO may utilize the list as a proactive measure. Mr. Moriarty mentioned that the COGs who staff the RTPOs may apply for additional federal funds appropriated by NMDOT for planning purposes.

# VIII. Presentation: Ports to Plains (Joe Kiely)

Mr. Kiely presented to the membership and public present on the Prots-to-Plains initiative and the effect it has on eastern New Mexico. Mr. Kiely presented much information which can be accessed via internet at <u>https://www.portstoplains.com/</u>

#### IX. Discussion: Project Feasibility Forms (NERTPO Planners)

NERTPO Planners reminded members of the Project Feasibility Forms and the importance of being proactive on their projects.

X. Discussion: Project Status update (Local Government Members)

Members present gave brief updates on various infrastructure projects.

#### XI. Update from the NERTPO Planners/Program Managers

Mr. Moriarty mentioned that the NMDOT RTP/TAP/CMAQ programs are planned for May 2021 for projects that are planned for Federal Fiscal 2023. Ms. Lesah Sedillo reminded members that the State Transportation Commission is planned for July 16<sup>th</sup> in the Village of Angel Fire.

#### XII. New Business

#### A. General Comments and Announcements from NERTPO Members and Public

Mr. Tim Hagaman announced that the Northeast Economic Development Organization (NEEDO) will be meeting and having a workshop in Santa Rosa on Hemp Production. It will be at the NM Hemp Services Building on March 19<sup>th</sup> from 10 AM to 2PM.

#### B. Suggested agenda Items for upcoming meetings

#### C. Meeting Locations:

- March 25<sup>th</sup>, 2020 San Miguel County/Las Vegas
- ✤ April 22, 2020 Village of Eagle Nest
- ✤ May 27<sup>th</sup>, 2020 Village of Angel Fire
- ✤ June 24<sup>th</sup> Village of Springer

#### XIII. Adjournment

With there being no further business to discuss, Chairman Cordova adjourned the meeting at 11:45 AM