Meeting Minutes

Northeast Regional Transportation Planning Organization (NERTPO) Hosted by the Eastern Plains Council of Governments

ONLINE

November 18th, 2020 10:00 a.m.





Present/Absent	Name	Entity	Voting/Alternate	
Present	Daniel Gurule	City of Las Vegas	Voting Member	
Present	Jason Phillips	City of Raton	Alternate	
Present	Richard Cordova-Chair	Village of Eagle Nest	Voting Member	
Present	Robert Thompson	Colfax County	Alternate	
Present	Sandy Garcia	Village of Angel Fire	Alternate	
Present	Ferron Lucero	Town of Clayton	Voting Member	
Present	Ernest Sanchez	Town of Clayton	Alternate	
Present	Mary Berglund	Village of Eagle Nest	Alternate	
Absent	Clay Kiesling	Union County	Voting Member	
Absent	Shawn Jeffrey - Vice- Chair	Village of Cimarron	Voting Member	
Absent	Cynthia Lee	Village of San Jon	Voting Member	
Absent	Heather Dostie	City of Santa Rosa	Voting Member	
Absent	Ralph Lopez	City of Tucumcari	Alternate	
Absent	Monica Abeyta	Guadalupe County	Voting Member	
Absent	Jennifer Baca	Harding County	Voting Member	
Absent	Samuel Blea	Town of Springer	Voting Member	
Absent	Sarah Arias	Town of Springer	Alternate	
Absent	Karen Gates	Village of Maxwell	Voting Member	
Absent	Vicki Strand	City of Tucumcari	Voting Member	
Absent	Vacant	City of Las Vegas	Alternate	
Absent	Scott Berry	City of Raton	Voting Member	
Absent	Vacant	City of Santa Rosa	Alternate	
Absent	Landon Newton	Colfax County	Voting Member	
Absent	Ken Flores	Guadalupe County	Alternate	
Absent	Pedro Laumbach	Harding County	Alternate	
Absent	Vacant	Mora County	Voting Member	
Absent	Vacant	Mora County	Alternate	
Absent	Larry Moore	Quay County	Voting Member	
Absent	Richard Primrose	Quay County	Alternate	
Absent	Arnold Lopez	San Miguel County	Voting Member	
Absent	Gerald Garcia	San Miguel County	Alternate	
Absent	Angie Gonzales	Union County	Alternate	
Absent	Jay Mitchell	Village of Angel Fire	Voting Member	
Absent	Renee Ledoux	Village of Cimarron	Alternate	
Absent	Lee Dixon	Village of Des Moines	Voting Member	

Absent	Scott Warner	Village of Des Moines	Alternate	
Absent	Diane Brown	Village of Folsom	Voting Member	
Absent	Mike Schoonover	Village of Folsom	Alternate	
Absent	Mignon Saddoris	Village of Grenville	Voting Member	
Absent	Lynn Wiseman	Village of Grenville	Alternate	
Absent	Anita Allen	Village of House	Voting Member	
Absent	Sherwin W. Martin	Village of House	Alternate	
Absent	Scott Parnell	Village of Logan	Voting Member	
Absent	Russell Feerer	Village of Logan	Alternate	
Absent	Joanna Taylor	Village of Maxwell	Alternate	
Absent	Daniela Johnson	Village of Mosquero	Voting Member	
Absent	Connie Cook	Village of Mosquero	Alternate	
Absent	Vacant	Village of Pecos	Alternate	
Absent	Telesfor Benavidez	Village of Pecos	Voting Member	
Absent	Donna Sue Milson	Village of Roy	Voting Member	
Absent	Matthew Baca	Village of Roy	Alternate	
Absent	Wade Lane	Village of San Jon	Alternate	
Absent	Laudente Quintana	Village of Wagon Mound	Voting Member	
Absent	Nora Sanchez	Village of Wagon Mound	Alternate	

Planners, NMDOT, and State Agencies

Raul Rodriguez III – Eastern Plains Council of Governments (EPCOG)
Steve Fischer – North Central NM Economic Development District (NCNMEDD)
Vincent M Soule – EPCOG
Alexis Padilla – NM Department of Transportation (NMDOT)
Joseph Moriarity, AICP – NMDOT Planning Division
Jai Courtney – EPCOG
Lesah R. Sedillo – NCNMEDD
Samantha Sandoval – NMDOT District 4
John Herrera – NMDOT District 4
Vijay Ummadi – NMDOT Transit & Rail Division

Guests

Eva Lawrence – Golden Spread Rural Frontier Coalition Marcelino Roybal – City Meadow Express Richard Runyon – Dennis Engineering Company

I. Call to Order

The Meeting was called to order at 10:09 AM by Chairman Richard Cordova.

II. Pledge of Allegiance/New Mexico State Flag

The Pledge of Allegiance and the salute to the New Mexico State Flag was led by Chairman Cordova.

III. Welcome

Chairman Cordova welcomed everyone to the virtual meeting. Individual introductions were conducted by all in attendance.

IV. Approval of Agenda

Motion to approve the agenda as presented: Jason Phillips, City of Raton Second: Daniel Gurule, City of Las Vegas With all voting in the affirmative, motion carries.

V. Approval of Minutes (September 2020-EPCOG < Zoom>)

Motion to approve the minutes as presented: Ferron Lucero – Town of Clayton Second: Jason Phillips – City of Raton With all voting in the affirmative, motion carries.

VI. NMDOT District Four Update/ NMDOT Staff (Mr. James M. Gallegos-District Four Engineer and Staff)

Ms. Sandoval informed members to check for their match waivers. She is still waiting of a few items. Please, contact Ms. Sandoval at samantha.sandoval2@state.nm.us with any questions.

Mr. Joseph Moriarty stated that state has released an intradepartmental correspondence (IDC) concerning local lead projects and certifications. The memo states:

This IDC is intended to provide clarification for the certification requirements for the Local Lead Projects. All 5 certifications (Environmental, ROW, Utilities, Railroad, ITS) are required when the following conditions are met:

- 1) The Project has Federal Funding in ANY phase.
- 2) The Project required Federal Actions, i.e.; ROW acquisition of Federal Lands, etc.
- 3) The Project is within or crosses NMDOT Right-of-Way. The projects that are funded with 100% State and Local funds are required to get all 5 Certifications when the following conditions are met:
 - 1) The Project required Federal Actions, i.e.; ROW acquisition of Federal Lands, etc.
 - 2) The Project is within or crosses NMDOT Right-of-Way.
- 3) They Project is funded with LGRF, MAP, CAP, Capital Outlay and the agreement is executed for State Fiscal Year 2020/2021 or Prior.

 The projects that are funded with the new Local Government Transportation Fund (LGTF) and DO NOT meet the conditions above will not be required to obtain the

5 certifications. The Local Entity will be required to consult with NMDOT Environmental section in order to determine the Local Entities level of effort to comply with Federal/State/and Local laws.



VII. Rating & Ranking: Public Transit Rating & Ranking (Vijay Ummadi – NMDOT Transit & Rail Division)

Presenters/Applicants

- Golden Spread Rural Frontier Coalition (49 USC 5311)
- **Meadow City Express** (49 USC 5311)

Each applicant presented to the membership present for rating and ranking purposes. Presentations may be made available upon request.

Members were given time to rate and rank each applicants. The overall results:

NMDOT Transit Sub- Recipients						
5311	High	Med High	Medium	Med Low	Low	
Golden Spread	10	8	0	0	0	18
Meadow City	8	9	1	0	0	18

VIII. Presentation: Project Feasibility Forms (PFFs) & Project Prospectus Forms (PPFs) (Planners)

Mr. Vincent Soule gave a brief presentation on PFFs and PPFs. The presentation used is already posted on the NERTPO website and may be accessed there. For specific questions and forms, please contact your planner.

IX. Discussion: Regional Plan Updates (NERTPO Planners)

Work will continue with the regional long-range plan. Data is currently being gathered and arranged at the time as well as content.

X. Discussion: Project Status update (Local Government Members)

Member entities provided a brief update on local infrastructure projects.

XI. Update from the NERTPO Planners/Program Managers

Planners stated that they had no other significant update from what was stated in prior items.

XII. New Business

A. General Comments and Announcements from NERTPO Members and **Public**

- B. Suggested agenda Items for upcoming meetings
- December 9th, 1 PM Goals Meeting
 - o Meeting will be online
 - C. Meeting Locations:
 - * December - Cancelled
 - January Cancelled
 - February online *

XIII. Adjournment

With there being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 11:49 AM.